Happy Thanksgiving!

By Kimmi Devaney

Thanksgiving is here! As we sit down with our families this holiday season, let’s not forget the hardworking individuals who work hard year round to ensure we have enough to eat. Dairy farms and many other types of farms are 24/7/365 operations, and this includes holidays. Sometimes this means juggling meal schedules and other activities to milk or feed cows.

We at the American Dairy Association are very thankful to work for such hardworking individuals every day. In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’d like to introduce one of our dairy farmers.

Meet Tejo Willemsen. He is a dairy farmer from Frankton, Indiana.

Q: Why did you get into the dairy business?

A: I was born on a dairy farm and I’m a 4th generation dairy farmer, so it is in my blood. It’s very nice to see that my oldest son, Thomas, already shows interest in the farm and the business and has the drive and attitude to become a good person and/or farmer.
Q: How does your family ensure your cows stay comfortable?

A: We do all we can to make the cows happy and comfortable. Happy and comfortable cows give lots of milk! So happy cow=happy farmer. The cows come first in all the decisions we make. It’s all about them.
Q: If you weren’t a dairy farmer, what would you do? What do you love most about dairy farming?

A: If I was not a dairy farmer am not sure what I was doing, never thought about it and fortunate enough I had never to think about it. The freedom you have as a farmer, giving my family the opportunity to grow up on a farm, being around cows and the interaction with my employees and vendors is something I live for, it’s the complete package I love with all its challenges and ups and downs

Leave a Reply

