Meet DeDe Hausmann

What is your favorite part of your job? 

I love it all for I get to do so many things.  One day I might be plugging chocolate milk as a sports recovery beverage on the radio and the next I’m in a school seeing what great things the students have done re: FUEL UP TO PLAY 60.  I also love speaking at dairy producer meetings for I get to tell Indiana dairy farmers all that we are doing to get dairy and other nutrient-rich food messages out.

Tell us a little about yourself. 

I was born in Iowa, raised with 4 brothers in Omaha, graduated from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, with a BS in Family & Consumer Science Education.  I’ve taught FACS classes in middle and high schools, worked for an electric utility company as a Home Economist, put on microwave cooking classes here, there and everywhere and was blessed to join ADAI/DNCI in 1995.  I’m been married for 39 years, have a son and a daughter, a great daughter-in-law, and 2 really cute grandkids that live too far away!!!   I love to relax with a good book and I have learned to enjoy exercise.

Tell us a little about someone who has influenced your life and why?

There’s not one person who stands out but many have made major impressions on me, from my parents, to teachers, to pastors, to childhood friends and new friends I’ve made over the many moves we’ve made and of course my family, both immediate and extended members.  Relationships with family and friends are very important to me!!!

A favorite recipe or restaurant to share? 

I’m always altering recipes to make them more nutritious, such as adding plain yogurt to homemade soups, or switching to low fat cheese or lean meats and adding fresh herbs to old stand-by recipes.  I definitely don’t cook as often as I did when our kids were at home but when I need to prepare a dish for a potluck or whatever, I want the item be tasty but as nutritious as possible.  Don’t get me wrong—I love sweets, especially anything CHOCOLATE, but I’ve learned to eat calorie-laden goodies in moderation!!  And I love trying out new restaurants, especially ethnic restaurants.  I’m a willing experimenter re: new foods but first and foremost, and my friends and family know this, bring on chicken, turkey or anything fowl and I will eat it.  A prized office possession: a rubber chicken!!!

Leave a Reply

