History of Ice Cream and a Ice Cream Machine Giveaway!

By Michelle Plummer

The origins of ice cream can be traced back to at least the 4th century B.C. Early references include the Roman emperor Nero (A.D. 37-68) who ordered ice to be brought from the mountains and combined with fruit toppings, and King Tang (A.D. 618-97) of Shang, China who had a method of creating ice and milk concoctions. Ice cream was likely brought from China back to Europe. Over time, recipes for ices, sherbets, and milk ices evolved and served in the fashionable Italian and French royal courts.

After the dessert was imported to the United States, it was served by several famous Americans. George Washington and Thomas Jefferson served it to their guests. In 1700, Governor Bladen of Maryland was recorded as having served it to his guests. In 1774, a London caterer named Philip Lenzi announced in a New York newspaper that he would be offering for sale various confections, including ice cream. Dolly Madison served it in 1812.

Methods and Technology

Whoever invented the method of using ice mixed with salt to lower and control the temperature of ice cream ingredients during its making provided a major breakthrough in ice cream technology. Also important was the invention of the wooden bucket freezer with rotary paddles improved ice cream’s manufacture.

Nancy Johnson and William Young – Hand-Cranked Freezers

In 1846, Nancy Johnson patented a hand-cranked freezer that established the basic method of making ice cream still used today. William Young patented the similar “Johnson Patent Ice-Cream Freezer” in 1848.

You can find more on ice cream history here.

As for a delicious homemade treat in the area…have you visited Cooks Candy Shop?  They are making homemade ice cream daily and their own toppings!  Just up the road in Anderson, it really is the perfect Sunday drive to relive some of the good old days of cranking ice cream machines on the back porch, licking the beaters and the ice cream melting down your arms…just a bit of nostalgia!

Well, you now know the store of ice cream making and a place to go get ice cream, but how about making it on your own?  Just tell us your favorite flavor ice cream in the comments below and you can enter to win a Cuisnart Ice Cream Maker (pictured above) so you can be the neighborhood ice cream shoppe!

Winner will be selected at random on 7/15.

24 Responses

  1. my favorite ice cream flavor is moose tracks!! love it!!

    mysandycat@aol.com

  2. I love chocolate cookie dough! its so good! mint ch.chip is also awesome!

  3. I just about like all flavors of ice cream but my favorite is butter pecan. Eating the buttery flavor ice cream with pecans is wonderful. When I go to fairs, I have to search out the stand that has butter pecan ice cream to have a cone of it….nothing better.

  4. I love Mint Chocolate Chip! Yummy!

  5. I am in love with a new flavor from LICK Icecream whos has a spot down in the Broad-ripples Farmers market. They have so many amazing artisan flavors but the greatest is the Chocolate Honey, infused with Goat Cheese…so so on points. But for nasalgic sake, I would opt for Moosetracks handsdown

  6. My favorite kind of ice cream is mint chocolate chip!

  7. I absolutely love Chocolate Peanut Butter!

  8. Mint Chocolate Chip is the best!

  9. My favorite ice cream flavor is good ‘ole homemade vanilla! There’s nothing like it!

  10. mine is cookies ‘n cream!! 🙂

  11. I love anything Chocolate but my favorite would be chocolate peanut butter.

  12. I love most every flavor, but when forced to choose: Turtle sundae.

  13. I love almost every flavor of ice cream, but if I have to pick one it would be snickers!

  14. Rum Raisin is my favorite!

  15. I like all ice cream but my all time favorite is lemon custard.

  16. neapolitan!

  17. My favorite flavor is chocolate/peanut butter!

  18. chocolate is definitely my fav!

  19. My favorite flavor is chocolate fudge brownie! Been a long time since I’ve had the pleasure of having any, but certainly a delightful memory for me!

  20. My favorite from the store is mint chocolate chip, but a friend made a cardamom ice cream that was absolutely amazing!

  21. I love chocolate to go simple, but to get more complex, I love peanut butter chocolate chip ice cream 🙂

  22. My favorite ice cream is reese cup ice cream! Yum!

  23. classic vanilla

  24. I like all kinds mostly vanilla but my favorite would be green tea.

Leave a Reply

