Getting to Know Indiana Dairy’s Linda Olson

What do you do at Indiana Dairy?

I am the executive assistant for our general manager and our marvelous board of directors.  I enjoy planning some of our American Dairy Association events, i.e., Fastest Rookie Luncheon, Zoopolis, Indiana Dairy Princess Scholarship program, and Indiana State School Music Association award presentations.  In addition I have the opportunity to chat with many of our Indiana dairy farmers when ordering dairy promo items for farm tours, county fairs, and Ag days.

What is your favorite part of your job?

I find it hard to pick a favorite part.  I really enjoy working with our board of directors, our staff and all Indiana dairy farmers.  I find it such a blessing to be involved in an industry that starts their meetings with prayer!

Tell us a little about yourself:

I have such fond memories of growing up on my grandparent’s farm in Columbus, Indiana.  They always had chickens, geese, pigs, horses, and of course a couple of dairy cows to milk.  I can still visualize my grandmother sitting on her milk stool.  Later in life I raised beef cattle and horses.  What fun it was to observe the miracle of the birth of a calf or foal and watch them wobble around as they tried to stand up.  I guess it’s true – “you can’t take the country out of the girl”.

After my two sons graduated, I decided it was time for mom to go back to school.  I graduated from Indiana Wesleyan with a bachelor’s degree in business management.  What a thrill it was to have my family – including my two grandsons in the audience as I walked across the stage for my diploma!

Tell us a little about someone who has influenced your life and why?

I have been blessed with so many wonderful and loving family members and friends that have encouraged and supported my dreams.  My grandma for sure was one of my positive influencers.  My husband, David, also has always encouraged and supported me.

Do you have a favorite recipe or restaurant to share?

I love to cook and bake.  My aunt AnnaBelle gave me a yummy macaroni and cheese recipe which includes cream of chicken soup and shredded cheddar cheese.  It’s always a family favorite!  (see below)

Aunt AnnaBelle’s Macaroni and Cheese

8 oz. dry macaroni
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 ½ Cups Cheddar cheese

Boil macaroni, drain.  Mix soup and cheese in 13 x 9 inch pan sprayed with PAM.  Combine macaroni with soup and cheese mixture.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes until bubbly.  You can add pimento if desired.

Leave a Reply

