Meet Kimmi Devaney

What do you do at Indiana Dairy?

I am the Producer Relations Program Coordinator and am responsible for protecting/promoting the image of dairy farmers and their products to the consumer, as well as building and maintaining connections within the dairy industry. My degree is in animal science with an emphasis in dairy production management, my family was in the dairy business and I have worked on dairies myself, so I know dairy farming firsthand and can relate very well to our farmers.

What is your favorite part of your job?

My favorite part of my job is visiting dairies and meeting dairy farmers. Its fun learning about what everyone is doing and seeing different dairy facilities. Dairy farmers are some of the hardest working, dedicated and nicest people I know, and I am thrilled to be working for them.

If you don’t know any dairy farmers yet, join us for Brunch on the Farm on Saturday June 18th in Bremen, Indiana (more information at WinnersDrinkMilk.com).

Tell us a little about yourself.

My family farms in Enumclaw, Washington, and I enjoy showing dairy cattle during the summer. I was an eight-year member of Enumclaw’s Chinook 4-H Club and was a Dairy Princess in 2005. The dairy industry has been a central part of my life for a long time and I don’t see that ever changing.

Off the farm, I am very involved in the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) and serve as their Western Region Coordinator. During college, I was the 2009 national president of the Student Affiliate Division of ADSA and established the Western Region.

Aside from dairy, I love to run and am running the Seattle Marathon this November.

Tell us a little about someone who has influenced your life and why?

This is easy—my Grandpa Johnson has been the most influential person in my life by far. He has farmed his entire life and gave my brother and me a deep appreciation for agriculture. I know for a fact I would not be where I am today if it were not for Grandpa (and everyone else who encouraged me to join 4-H…thank you!).

A few other influential people have been my 4-H leader Becky Birklid, college journalism professor Roberta Kelly and ofcourse my mom, brother and other family and friends.

Do you have a favorite recipe or restaurant to share?

My favorite restaurant is the Krain Corner, a small place in Enumclaw. The food is good, but what I love most about it are all the memories shared with friends and family over the years. From breakfast with friends during the county fair to family get-togethers, there are a lot of memories within those walls!

Red Lobster is also good, but nothing beats Granny’s home cooking. EVERYTHING she cooks is amazing!

Leave a Reply

