Staff Spotlight: Deb Berry

What do you do at Indiana Dairy?

This is my 27th year working for the Indiana dairy industry.  I am the Director of Finance and also the Director of Human Resources. Over the years there have been various changes and job duties.

What is your favorite part of your job?

It is a privilege to work for an industry that promotes good nutrition, health and exercise. I very much respect Indiana dairy farmers and it is a pleasure to work for such great hardworking people.  I love dairy products especially a cold glass of milk.  The variety of my job is great and the atmosphere of a small office is pleasant.  Every day presents new challenges and almost every day is different. The staff does many different things including working at various promotion events. Recently, I spent one day at the Indiana State Fair at the dairy exhibit in the Our Land Pavilion Building. 

Tell us a little about yourself.

I am married and my husband Darrell and I have six children and six grandchildren and two Chihuahuas.  So holidays at our house are fun but can be a bit hectic.  We enjoy hiking, gardening, bird watching and all water activities.  We have a pool so it is fun to entertain family and friends.  Darrell and I and two of our children are certified scuba divers.

 I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from Indiana Wesleyan University.  My associate’s degree is from Vincennes University.

I grew up on a small 100 acre farm in central Indiana and I have six brothers and sisters. My Dad worked as an electrician and farmed on the side.  At some point in time, we had a garden, cows, pigs, chickens, horses, goats, a monkey, and a donkey.  I remember helping to pluck chickens and baling hay.  I believe growing up on a farm gives you good work ethics and values.  My childhood was nice with many good memories.

 Tell us a little about someone who has influenced your life and why?

My Mother is a very kind caring loving person.  Her whole life she has spent helping people in some way.  She has always worked hard and often went out of her way to visit someone in the hospital, or take people to appointments, or take food to their homes.

Do you have a favorite recipe or restaurant to share?

In the summer, we enjoy barbequing on our grill.  We like to do vegetables from our garden, steak, and sweet corn on the grill.  We also enjoy eating out at many different restaurants.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,722 other followers

