Gifts Worth Giving

By Michelle Plummer

Receiving gifts during the holidays is an exciting time!  Homemade gifts are even more anticipated.  Over the past year I have shared many of my personal recipes and this month I provided a few more to make your table shine or your gifts relished.  I always want to make my gifts the ones that will be the envy of my friends.  This year I have hit the jackpot!

The Cherry Relish is divine on everything from pork to oatmeal and the Boursin cheese while the original is luscious, this is one that will rival it and at a portion of the cost.

May all of your holidays be warm and delightful with great friends and good food!


Tomato Onion Jam

14 oz tomatoes, canned

1/2  cup  onion, diced

1/4  cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons  balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoons orange juice concentrate

1/4 teaspoon  cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon cayenne

1/8 teaspoon allspice

Combine all ingredients, bring to a boil, and simmer until thick for 30 minutes.

Serve with toasted slice bread.

Per Serving: 20 Calories; 1g Fat (2.2% calories from fat); 4g Protein; 55g Carbohydrate; 4g Dietary Fiber; 0mg Cholesterol; 602mg Sodium.

Gift Notes:

  • Great with pork tenderloin rounds
  • Serve as a ‘sauce’ over rice or couscous

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,722 other followers